

PARA Assembly Meeting Minutes Meredith Room, Holiday Inn Express Edmonton, AB Tuesday, November 20, 2018 DRAFT

### Attendees:

#### PARA Executive Board:

Dr. Deepak Dinakaran, President

- Dr. Imhokhai Ogah, Vice President Community & Internal Relations (VPCIR)
- Dr. Casey Chan, Vice President Leadership & Education (VPLE)
- Dr. Franco Rizzuti, Vice President Operations & Finance (VPOF)
- Dr. Taylor Wong, Calgary & Southern Alberta Ambassador (CSAA)
- Dr. Bethany Ostrowerka, Edmonton & Northern Alberta Ambassador (ENAA)
- Dr. Michael Martyna, Past President

#### PARA Assembly Delegates - University of Alberta & Northern Alberta Council:

Dr. Scott Anderson	Dr. Vanessa DeMelo	Dr. Nabeela Nathoo
Dr. Charles Bouchard	Dr. Justine Hanes	Dr. Kaylynn Purdy

#### PARA Assembly Delegates – University of Calgary & Southern Alberta Council:

Dr. Lauren Bilinsky	Dr. Tamara Gimon	Dr. David Sessford
Dr. Andrew Brack	Dr. Marya Hussain	Dr. Nazia Sharfuddin
Dr. Kenneth Chan	Dr. Jacqueline Luhoway	Dr. Tahireh Shams
Dr. Maria Daniel	Dr. Erin Martin	Dr. Calvin Tseng
Dr. Jordan Gibson	Dr. Amro Qaddoura	

#### University of Alberta Medical Student Association Representative:

Ms. Brittany Lissinna

#### PARA Staff:

Mr. Rob Key, Chief Executive Officer Ms. Tara Madden, Member Affairs Manager Ms. Robin Raworth, Member Services Coordinator Ms. Ravneet Saran, Member Services Specialist Ms. Amanda Wolfer, Communications Specialist

## Regrets:

**PARA Executive Board** 

Dr. Davis Sam, Alberta Medical Association Ambassador (AMAA)

#### PARA Assembly Delegates – University of Alberta & Northern Alberta Council:

Dr. Ben Beech	Dr. Guillaume Leclair	Dr. Connor Sommerfeld
Dr. Michele Foster	Dr. Sean Ling	Dr. Simon Taylor
Dr. Daniel Friedman	Dr. Shivani Upadhyaya	Dr. Michael Wang
Dr. Emily King	Dr. Chelsea Smithbower	Dr. Hana Yu

PARA Assembly Delegates – University of Calgary & Southern Alberta Council:Dr. Ali FatehiDr. Umair Iftikhar

**University of Calgary Medical Student Association Representative:** Ms. Vaneet Randhawa

### Motions:

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership accepts the November 20, 2018 PARA Annual General Meeting Agenda as presented. Motion: Dr. Nazia Sharfuddin

Seconded: Dr. Tahireh Shams Carried.

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership accepts the November 21, 2017 PARA Annual GeneralMeeting Minutes as presented.Motion:Dr. Nabeela NathooSeconded:Dr. Charles BouchardCarried.

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership receive the financial statements and the accompanying Review Engagement Report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018 as reviewed by Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP.

Motion:Dr. Casey ChanSeconded:Dr. Amro QaddouraCarried.

BIRT the 2018-2019 PARA membership appoint the accounting firm of Kingston Ross Pasnak LLPto perform a review engagement for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2019.Motion:Dr. Scott AndersonSeconded:Dr. Kenneth ChanCarried.

BIRT the existing Bylaws of the Association filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be repealedand entirely replaced with those set out in the attached Schedule "A".Motion:Dr. Bethany OstrowerkaSeconded:Dr. Gaganjot SandhuCarried.

BIRT PARA's November 20, 2018 Annual General Meeting is adjourned.Motion:Dr. Tamara GimonCarried.

## Action Items:

No action items.

# 1. Call to Order

- a) Dr. Michael Martyna called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.
- b) November 20, 2018 Annual General Meeting Agenda
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership accepts the November 20, 2018 PARA Annual GeneralMeeting Agenda as presented.Motion:Dr. Nazia SharfuddinSeconded:Dr. Tahireh ShamsCarried.

- c) November 21, 2017 Annual General Meeting Minutes
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership accepts the November 20, 2017 PARA Annual GeneralMeeting Minutes as presented.Motion:Dr. Nabeela NathooSeconded:Dr. Charles BouchardCarried.

# 2. New Business

- a) PARA Financial Statements for fiscal year ending June 30, 2018
  - Review of financial statements Mr. Deepak Dinakaran reviewed the financial statements
  - Motion for receipt

BIRT the 2018 – 2019 PARA membership receive the financial statements and the accompanying Review Engagement Report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018 as reviewed by Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP.

Motion:Dr. Casey ChanSeconded:Dr. Amro QaddouraCarried.

- b) Accountants for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2019
  - Discussion
  - Motion for appointment

BIRT the 2018-2019 PARA membership appoint the accounting firm of Kingston Ross Pasnak LLPto perform a review engagement for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2019.Motion:Dr. Scott AndersonSeconded:Dr. Kenneth ChanCarried.

- Review resolution
- Motion for approval

BIRT the existing Bylaws of the Association filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be repealedand entirely replaced with those set out in the attached Schedule "A".Motion:Dr. Bethany OstrowerkaSeconded:Dr. Gaganjot SandhuCarried.

## 3. Adjournment

BIRT PARA's November 20, 2018 Annual General Meeting is adjourned. Motion: Dr. Tamara Gimon Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:27 p.m.