

# PARA Assembly Meeting Minutes MacEwan Ballroom, MacEwan Centre University of Calgary Tuesday, November 21, 2017

# **DRAFT**

# Attendees:

#### **PARA Executive Board:**

- Dr. Michael Martyna, President
- Dr. Charlene Dinakaran, Vice President Community & Internal Relations (VPCIR)
- Dr. Michele Foster, Vice President Leadership & Education (VPLE)
- Dr. Deepak Dinakaran, Vice President Operations & Finance (VPOF)
- Dr. Taylor Wong, Calgary & Southern Alberta Ambassador (CSAA)
- Dr. Bethany Ostrowerka, Edmonton & Northern Alberta Ambassador (ENAA)
- Dr. Jordan Stosky, Alberta Medical Association Ambassador (AMAA)
- Dr. Catherine Cheng, Past President

# PARA Assembly Delegates - University of Alberta & Northern Alberta Council:

Dr. Sameer Apte
Dr. Christopher Koo
Dr. Jennifer Ortynski
Dr. Ben Beech
Dr. Sean Ling
Dr. Connor Sommerfeld
Dr. Charles Bouchard
Dr. Evan Martow
Dr. Simon Taylor
Dr. Marya Cordell
Dr. Adam Mildenberger
Dr. Shivani Upadhyaya

Dr. Kiranpal Dhillon Dr. Nabeela Nathoo Dr. Hana Yu

## PARA Assembly Delegates - University of Calgary & Southern Alberta Council:

Dr. Casey Chan Dr. Alex Ragan Dr. David Sessford

Dr. Mim Fatmi Dr. Francesco Rizzuti
Dr. Kwadwo Mponponsuo Dr. Gaganjot Sandhu

**General Members:** 

Dr. Michael Horkoff Dr. Adrien Tennent

## **University of Alberta Medical Student Association Representative:**

Ms. Miranda Wan

# **University of Calgary Medical Student Association Representative:**

Ms. Danni Wang

#### **PARA Staff:**

Mr. Rob Key, Chief Executive Officer

Ms. Tara Madden, Member Affairs Manager

Mrs. Kiersten Doblanko, Communications Coordinator

Ms. Robin Raworth, Member Services Coordinator

Ms. Ravneet Saran, Member Services Specialist

#### Regrets:

# PARA Assembly Delegates - University of Alberta & Northern Alberta Council:

Dr. Joy Adekanmbi Dr. Kendra Houston Dr. Michael Wang

Dr. Victor Dong Dr. Megan MacGillivray

### PARA Assembly Delegates - University of Calgary & Southern Alberta Council:

Dr. Andrew Brack Dr. Rebecca Hartley Dr. Erin Martin
Dr. Erika Donald Dr. Umair Iftikhar Dr. Rajan Minhas

Dr. Richard Gagnon Dr. Monica Jepson
Dr. Tamara Gimon Dr. Jordan Li

#### **Motions:**

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership accepts the November 21, 2017 PARA Annual General

Meeting Agenda as presented.

Motion: Dr. Casey Chan
Seconded: Dr. Christopher Koo

Carried.

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership accepts the November 7, 2016 PARA Annual General

Meeting Minutes as presented.

Motion: Dr. Charlene Dinakaran Seconded: Dr. Shivani Upadhyaya

Carried.

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership receive the financial statements and the accompanying Review Engagement Report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017 as reviewed by Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP.

Motion: Dr. Francesco Rizzuti Seconded: Dr. David Sessford

Carried.

BIRT the 2017-2018 PARA membership appoint the accounting firm of Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP to perform a review engagement for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2018.

Motion: Dr. Taylor Wong

Seconded: Dr. Bethany Ostrowerka

Carried.

BIRT the existing Bylaws of the Association filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be repealed and entirely replaced with those set out in the attached Schedule "A".

Motion: Dr. Michael Martyna Seconded: Dr. Michele Foster

Carried.

BIRT the application filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be amended to delete all of the existing objects of the Association in their entirety and to adopt a complete new set of objects for the Association as set out in the attached Schedule "B".

Motion: Dr. Connor Sommerfeld

Seconded: Dr. Marya Cordell

Carried.

BIRT PARA's November 21, 2017 Annual General Meeting is adjourned.

Motion: Dr. Charlene Dinakaran

Carried.

# **Action Items:**

No action items.

## 1. Call to Order

- a) Dr. Michael Martyna called the meeting to order at 5:02 p.m.
- b) November 21, 2017 Annual General Meeting Agenda
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership accepts the November 21, 2017 PARA Annual General

Meeting Agenda as presented.

Motion: Dr. Casey Chan Seconded: Dr. Christopher Koo

Carried.

- c) November 7, 2016 Annual General Meeting Minutes
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership accepts the November 7, 2016 PARA Annual General

Meeting Minutes as presented.

Motion: Dr. Charlene Dinakaran Seconded: Dr. Shivani Upadhyaya

Carried.

#### 2. New Business

- a) PARA Financial Statements for fiscal year ending June 30, 2017
  - Review of financial statements Mr. Deepak Dinakaran reviewed the financial statements
  - Motion for receipt

BIRT the 2017 – 2018 PARA membership receive the financial statements and the accompanying Review Engagement Report for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017 as reviewed by Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP.

Motion: Dr. Francesco Rizzuti Seconded: Dr. David Sessford

Carried.

- b) Accountants for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2018
  - Discussion

• Motion for appointment

BIRT the 2017-2018 PARA membership appoint the accounting firm of Kingston Ross Pasnak LLP to perform a review engagement for PARA's fiscal year ending June 30, 2018.

Motion: Dr. Taylor Wong

Seconded: Dr. Bethany Ostrowerka

Carried.

- c) Special Resolution PARA By-laws
  - Review resolution
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the existing Bylaws of the Association filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be repealed and entirely replaced with those set out in the attached Schedule "A".

Motion: Dr. Michael Martyna Seconded: Dr. Michele Foster

Carried.

- d) Special Resolution PARA Objects
  - Review resolution
  - Motion for approval

BIRT the application filed with Alberta Corporate Registry be amended to delete all of the existing objects of the Association in their entirety and to adopt a complete new set of objects for the Association as set out in the attached Schedule "B".

Motion: Dr. Connor Sommerfeld

Seconded: Dr. Marya Cordell

Carried.

# 3. **Adjournment**

BIRT PARA's November 21, 2017 Annual General Meeting is adjourned.

Motion: Dr. Charlene Dinakaran

Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:27 p.m.